Cause-Effect Monitoring Migratory Landbirds at Local Scales, Oil Sands Region

Cause-Effect Monitoring Data - Steam Assisted Gravity Drainage (SAGD) Activity

Environment and Climate Change Canada in 2014-2015 assessed how and why boreal songbirds respond to Steam Assisted Gravity Drainage (SAGD) activity in peatland habitats within the Athabasca oil sands area. Development features associated with SAGD activity include high density exploratory seismic lines, winter roads, well pads, pipelines, permanent roads, and industrial facilities. This work examines how bird species respond to different types and densities of development features at a SAGD project scale. Peatland habitats are prominent in the oil sands area (approximately 40% of the total area) but there is little information about how birds respond to oil sands development features in this habitat type.

Data are available for eleven, 25-hectare sites surveyed in 2014-2015. Survey sites were located in treed bog habitat across a gradient of SAGD disturbance, ranging from low to high and where disturbance was defined as physical alteration of vegetation (habitat). Sites were visited multiple times (6 visits in 2014 and 8 visits in 2015) during the breeding season from early-May to early-July to record detections for each individual bird within the study site. The data summarizes the number of individuals of each species detected within the 25 hectare survey grids during each visit.

In 2014, a total of 62 species were detected within the survey grids, with 38 species showing consistent breeding season occupancy (detection on at least 3 visits during the breeding season). In 2015, a total of 71 species were detected within the survey grids, with 39 species showing consistent breeding season occupancy. Analyses are currently underway to identify which habitat and disturbance features relate to occupancy and habitat use patterns for individual species within the study area. While baseline monitoring across the region will assess large-scale population trends, this study will provide detailed understanding of which SAGD disturbance feature types and densities induce positive, negative or neutral responses for individual species and can improve our understanding of the patterns observed in regional trend monitoring data.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[   ]aad09e33-529f-4676-84e1-89caec2e7804.xml2017-02-09 20:43 52KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_BirdSpecies(r)-v1.csv2016-12-07 20:23 14KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_DataDictionary(r)-v1.csv2016-12-07 20:21 23KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_Sites(r)-v1.csv2016-12-07 20:21 102KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_SiteSurveyInfo(r)-v1.csv2016-12-07 20:22 31KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_SpeciesObservationLog(r)-v1.csv2016-12-07 20:22 28KComma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json2017-02-09 20:43 6.8KJavascript Object Notation
Date modified:

Surveillance des relations de cause à effet des oiseaux terrestres migrateurs à les échelles locales, région des sables bitumineux

Données de surveillance des causes et des effets - L'activité de drainage par gravité au moyen de vapeur (DGV)

En 2014-2015, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a évalué comment et pourquoi les oiseaux chanteurs de la région boréale réagissaient à l’activité de drainage par gravité au moyen de vapeur (DGV) dans les habitats de tourbières situés dans la région des sables bitumineux de l’Athabasca. Parmi les éléments de développement associés au DGV figurent les lignes sismiques exploratoires à forte densité, les routes d’hiver, les plateformes d’exploitation, les pipelines, les routes permanentes et les installations industrielles. Le présent travail examine comment les espèces d’oiseaux réagissent aux différents types d’éléments de développement et à la densité de ces éléments à l’échelle d’un projet de DGV. Dans la région des sables bitumineux, les habitats de tourbières prédominent (environ 40 % de la superficie totale), mais on dispose de peu d’information sur la manière dont les oiseaux réagissent aux caractéristiques d’exploitation des sables bitumineux dans ce type d’habitat.

Les données sont disponibles pour onze sites de 25 hectares ayant fait l’objet de relevés en 2014-2015. Ces sites se trouvaient dans des habitats de tourbières arborées, où le gradient de perturbation par le DGV allait de bas à élevé, la perturbation se définissant comme une altération physique de la végétation (habitat). Pour consigner les observations sur chacun des oiseaux se trouvant dans la zone d’étude, nous avons effectué plusieurs visites de ces sites (six en 2014 et huit en 2015) au cours de la saison de reproduction allant du début mai au début juillet. Les données résument le nombre d’individus de chaque espèce qui ont été observés à l’échelle des quadrillages de relevé de 25 hectares au cours de chaque visite.

En 2014, nous avons dénombré au total 62 espèces à l’intérieur des quadrillages de relevé et y avons observé 38 espèces présentes régulièrement pendant la saison de reproduction (lors de 3 visites au moins pendant la saison de reproduction). En 2015, le nombre total d’espèces dénombrées à l’intérieur des quadrillages s’élevait à 71, et 39 espèces y ont été observées régulièrement pendant la saison de reproduction. Nous menons actuellement des analyses en vue de déterminer quel habitat et quelles perturbations du terrain se rapportent aux profils d’occupation et d’utilisation de l’habitat de chaque espèce décelée dans la zone d’étude. Alors que la surveillance de base à l’échelle de la région permettra d’évaluer les tendances démographiques à grande échelle, cette étude permettra d’établir clairement quels types et quelles densités de perturbations associés au DGV induisent des réactions positives, négatives ou neutres chez chaque espèce. L’étude peut par ailleurs améliorer notre compréhension des profils dans les données de surveillance des tendances régionales.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[   ]aad09e33-529f-4676-84e1-89caec2e7804.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 52KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_BirdSpecies(r)-v1.csv07-Dec-2016 20:23 14KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_DataDictionary(r)-v1.csv07-Dec-2016 20:21 23KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_Sites(r)-v1.csv07-Dec-2016 20:21 102KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_SiteSurveyInfo(r)-v1.csv07-Dec-2016 20:22 31KComma separated
[Comma separated]Cause-Effect-Biodiversity-Monitoring-Landbirds-2014-2015_SpeciesObservationLog(r)-v1.csv07-Dec-2016 20:22 28KComma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 6.8KJavascript Object Notation
Date modified: