Cause-Effect Monitoring, Oil Sands Region

Data on location and timing of surveys, ecological descriptions, environmental attributes (wind, weather etc), bird observations (point count data, species at risk playback data, spot mapping data), habitat data (ecological vegetation data, habitat mapping etc). Regional data were collected from across the Oil Sands Areas of Alberta. Data were also collected at local scales. Data were collected from 2011 until 2015.

Environment Canada’s field work is focused on understanding how boreal songbirds, including several Species at Risk, are affected by human activity in the oil sands area. Identifying the abundance of songbird species associated with various habitat type(s), and understanding how birds vary with type and amount of habitat, is a first step towards assessing the effect of habitat disturbance.

Bird data were collected in various habitats, including some previously unsurveyed habitats, to fill information gaps in bird-habitat models developed in partnership with the Boreal Avian Modelling (BAM) Project. The newly acquired data will increase the robustness of models of bird response to 39 types of forest habitats and disturbance. These models of bird response will be used to improve design of future trend surveys, particularly for uncommon species, to explain observed trends in populations (e.g. why populations may or may not be decreasing or increasing), and to predict how populations will change in future. Because bird trend monitoring can take a long time to yield robust results (e.g. 10-15+ years), models can assist decision-making by helping evaluate land-use choices before impacts are directly observed.

Environment Canada will continue efforts to increase bird model robustness relative to habitat disturbance and initiate new trend monitoring, with a focus on uncommon bird species. Future updates will be provided as the program continues.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]cause-effect-monitoring-migratory-landbirds-at-local-scales-oil-sands-region/20-Mar-2017 17:42 - Folder
[DIR]cause-effect-monitoring-migratory-landbirds-at-regional-scales-oil-sands-region/20-Mar-2017 17:42 - Folder
[   ]768e0300-3e16-49da-80e5-5d68b28ef407.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 51KUnknown item
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 6.0KJavascript Object Notation
Date modified:

Surveillance des relations de cause à effet, région des sables bitumineux

Des données sur l'endroit et le choix du moment des études, les descriptions de caractéristiques écologiques, les caractéristiques de l'environnement (vent, température, etc.), les observations d'oiseaux (données de dénombrement ponctuel; données différées sur les espèces en peril; données d’échantillonnage par plans quadrillés) et les habitats (données écologiques sur la végétation, cartes d'habitat, etc.). Les données régionales ont été recueillies dans l'ensemble des zones des sables bitumineux de l'Alberta. Les données locales ont été recueillies aussi. Des données seront recueillies de 2011 à 2015.

Le travail sur le terrain effectué par Environnement Canada a mis l’accent sur la compréhension de la façon dont les oiseaux chanteurs boréaux, y compris plusieurs espèces en péril, sont touchés par l’activité humaine dans les régions de sables bitumineux. La détermination des nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux chanteurs associés aux divers types d’habitats et la compréhension de la façon dont ces oiseaux varient en fonction du type et du nombre d’habitats constituent la première étape pour évaluer les conséquences de la perturbation des habitats.

Des données sur les oiseaux ont été recueillies dans divers habitats, y compris certains habitats n’ayant pas fait l’objet d’une étude antérieure, afin de combler les lacunes en matière d’information dans le cadre des modèles d’habitats des oiseaux élaborés en collaboration avec le Projet de modélisation de l’avifaune boréale (PMAB). Les données récemment acquises permettront d’accroître le caractère rigoureux des modèles des réponses des oiseaux quant aux 39 types d’habitats forestiers et de perturbations des habitats. Ces modèles de réponses des oiseaux seront utilisés pour améliorer la conception des relevés futurs sur les tendances, surtout pour les espèces rares, afin d’expliquer les tendances constatées dans les populations (p. ex., pourquoi des populations augmentent ou diminuent) et de prédire la façon dont les populations changeront à l’avenir. Puisqu’il faut généralement du temps avant d’obtenir des résultats robustes pour ce qui est de la surveillance des tendances des oiseaux (p. ex., de 10 à 15 ans), les modèles peuvent favoriser le processus décisionnel en permettant d’évaluer les choix d’utilisation des terrains avant de constater directement les conséquences.

Environnement Canada continuera ses efforts en vue d’accroître le caractère rigoureux des modèles d’oiseaux en ce qui concerne la perturbation des habitats et amorcera une surveillance des nouvelles tendances en mettant l’accent sur les espèces d’oiseaux rares. Les mises à jour seront fournies tout au long du déroulement du programme.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]cause-effect-monitoring-migratory-landbirds-at-local-scales-oil-sands-region/2017-03-20 17:42 - Folder
[DIR]cause-effect-monitoring-migratory-landbirds-at-regional-scales-oil-sands-region/2017-03-20 17:42 - Folder
[   ]768e0300-3e16-49da-80e5-5d68b28ef407.xml2017-02-09 20:43 51KUnknown item
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json2017-02-09 20:43 6.0KJavascript Object Notation
Date modified: