North American Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) in Canada

The North American Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) is a road-based, long-term, continental survey that focuses on measuring breeding bird abundance at 50 stops along roughly 40-km long transects.

This collection houses PDFs of active BBS route maps, which are grouped by province or territory. These maps allow BBS volunteers in Canada to easily locate the start of their route, and to navigate the official route. Once available, the collection will also house the GIS shapefiles for all active and discontinued route paths in Canada, and the current locations for all 50 stops along each transect.

This collection also houses archived trend results and annual indices derived from analyses prepared by the Canadian Wildlife Service using BBS data for 2009, 2011 and 2012. A link for the most current BBS trend results is provided below under Supplemental Information.

Raw BBS data are publicly available through through the USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center's website, at the link provided below under Supplemental Information.

The BBS is jointly coordinated by Environment Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service and the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), Patuxent Wildlife Research Center. Any use of BBS data for Canada should acknowledge the hundreds of skilled volunteers in Canada who have participated in the BBS over the years, those who have served as provincial or territorial coordinators for the BBS, and the Boreal Avian Modelling Project (BAM; www.borealbirds.ca), whose collaboration was invaluable to the creation of the BBS route and stop location dataset.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-maps-for-canada/2015-08-27 12:35 - Folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-population-trend-and-annual-indices-for-canada-data-version-2009/2015-07-14 14:33 - Folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-population-trend-and-annual-indices-for-canada-data-version-2011/2015-07-14 14:33 - Folder
[   ]0553f54f-5593-4d91-ad3d-655b418fe800.xml2015-05-27 18:01 41KUnknown item
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json2015-05-27 18:01 6.1KJavascript Object Notation
[Text file]digest.txt2015-07-14 14:33 291 Text file
[Comma separated]Province-Territory-LookUpTable.csv2015-05-15 12:29 620 Comma separated
Date modified:

Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Amérique du Nord (BBS) au Canada

Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Amérique du Nord (BBS, pour Breeding Bird Survey) est un relevé continental à long terme réalisé dans des parcours établis le long de routes, consistant en des transects d’environ 40 km dans lesquels 50 arrêts sont effectués pour mesurer l'abondance des oiseaux nicheurs.

Cette collection comprend des cartes de parcours actuels (format PDF), qui sont groupées par province et territoire. Ces cartes permettent aux bénévoles du Relevé au Canada de localiser facilement le point de départ de leur parcours, et d’examiner le parcours officiel. La collection va aussi comprendre les fichiers de formes de tous les parcours canadiens actuels et passés, ainsi que les emplacements actuels des 50 arrêts de chaque transect, une fois que cette information est disponible.

Cette collection comprend également les tendances et les indices annuels archivés tirés des données du Relevé pour 2009, 2011 et 2012 par le Service canadien de la faune. Les résultats les plus courantes du Relevé sont disponibles à travers le lien indiqué dans les Informations supplémentaires ci-dessous.

Le Relevé est coordonné conjointement par Environnement Canada et le Patuxent Wildlife Research Center affilié à l’U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Toute utilisation des données du Relevé pour le Canada devrait être faite en reconnaissant les centaines de bénévoles au Canada qui ont participé au Relevé au fil des années ainsi que ceux et celles qui ont servi de coordonnateurs provinciaux ou territoriaux du Relevé, de même que le Projet de modélisation de l’avifaune boréale (PMAB; www.borealbirds.ca), dont la collaboration a été précieuse pour la création de l’ensemble de données sur les parcours du Relevé et les emplacements des arrêts.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-maps-for-canada/2015-08-27 12:35 - Folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-population-trend-and-annual-indices-for-canada-data-version-2009/2015-07-14 14:33 - Folder
[DIR]north-american-breeding-bird-survey-population-trend-and-annual-indices-for-canada-data-version-2011/2015-07-14 14:33 - Folder
[   ]0553f54f-5593-4d91-ad3d-655b418fe800.xml2015-05-27 18:01 41KUnknown item
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json2015-05-27 18:01 6.1KJavascript Object Notation
[Text file]digest.txt2015-07-14 14:33 291 Text file
[Comma separated]Province-Territory-LookUpTable.csv2015-05-15 12:29 620 Comma separated
Date modified: