Enhanced Deposition, Polycyclic Aromatic Compounds (Active), Oil Sands Region

Environment Canada has been monitoring ambient air in the oil sands region for polycyclic aromatic compounds (PACs) since December 2010. Ambient air samples collected using the established protocols and schedule of the National Air Pollution Surveillance (NAPS) program are termed active PAC samples. Active sampling is done at three sites (Mannix [AMS5], Lower Camp [AMS11] and Fort McKay South [AMS13], Alberta).

Ambient air concentrations in the oil sands region can be used to evaluate regional differences in PAC concentrations and can be compared with levels of PACs measured in other parts of Canada and to ambient air quality objectives. Average PAC levels across the three sites in the oil sands region are comparable to urban\/sub-urban levels across Canada and are elevated compared with background rural sites in Canada. Higher concentrations of PACs are measured at sites that are closer to oil sands mining and upgrading facilities compared with sites that are further away.

Benzo(a)pyrene (BaP) is a PAC formed mainly as a result of incomplete combustion of carbon-based materials and fuels during industrial and other human activities, as well as natural events such as forest fires. It is associated with heavy molecular weight PACs that may be more carcinogenic. The data from the measurements conducted so far (data exclude May and June 2011 due to forest fires) indicate that BaP levels exceed the Alberta ambient air quality objective of 0.3 ng\/m3 as an annual average concentration (based on chronic and carcinogenic human health effects) at one location.

The PAC air concentrations will be used to determine the amount of dry deposition, which cannot be measured directly. This information can be integrated with information on other pollutants, and their deposition, to determine cumulative effects on ecosystems and communities in and downwind of the oil sands region.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/15-Dec-2016 16:26 - Folder
[   ]c632e67e-b518-4173-a8cd-90402c0b3e45.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 49KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (PACs active).csv10-Nov-2015 20:58 714 Comma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 5.8KJavascript Object Notation
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS11_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:50 213KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS13_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:53 215KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS5_PACs__Filter_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:47 208KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS5_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:47 208KComma separated
Date modified:

Dépôts accrus, échantillonnage actif des composés aromatiques polycycliques (CAP), région des sables bitumineux

Environnement Canada surveille l’air ambiant dans la région des sables bitumineux à la recherche de composés aromatiques polycycliques (CAP) depuis décembre 2010. On appelle les échantillons d’air ambiant recueillis au moyen de protocoles établis et du calendrier du programme du Réseau national de surveillance de la pollution atmosphérique (RNSPA) des échantillons CAP actifs. L’échantillonnage actif se fait dans trois sites (Mannix [AMS5], Lower Camp [AMS11] et Fort McKay Sud [AMS13], en Alberta).

Les concentrations de l’air ambiant dans la région des sables bitumineux peuvent servir à évaluer les différences régionales dans les concentrations de CAP et être comparées, d’une part, aux niveaux de CAP mesurés dans d’autres régions du Canada et, d’autre part, aux objectifs liés à la qualité de l’air ambiant. Les niveaux moyens de CAP constatés dans les trois sites dans la région des sables bitumineux sont comparables aux niveaux urbains\/suburbains dans l’ensemble du Canada et ils sont élevés par rapport aux sites ruraux de référence au Canada. On observe des concentrations de CAP plus élevées dans les sites plus proches des installations d’extraction et de valorisation de sables bitumineux que dans ceux plus éloignés.

Le benzo[a]pyrène (BaP) est un CAP qui se forme principalement par suite d’une combustion incomplète de composés à base de carbone et de carburants durant les activités industrielles et autres activités humaines, ainsi que dans des circonstances naturelles, comme les feux de forêt. On l’associe aux CAP à molécules lourdes qui peuvent être plus cancérogènes. Les données obtenues à partir des mesures prises à ce jour (à l’exclusion des données de mai et de juin 2011 à cause de feux de forêt) indiquent que les niveaux de BaP excèdent l’objectif de l’Alberta en matière de qualité de l’air ambiant de 0,3 ng\/m3 en tant que concentration annuelle moyenne (d’après les effets chroniques et cancérogènes sur la santé humaine) à un endroit.

Les concentrations de CAP dans l’air serviront à déterminer la quantité de dépôt sec, qui ne peut pas être mesurée directement. Cette information pourra être ajoutée à des renseignements sur d’autres polluants, et sur leur dépôt, afin de déterminer les effets cumulatifs sur les écosystèmes et les collectivités se trouvant dans la région des sables bitumineux et en aval de cette région.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/15-Dec-2016 16:26 - Folder
[   ]c632e67e-b518-4173-a8cd-90402c0b3e45.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 49KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (PACs active).csv10-Nov-2015 20:58 714 Comma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 5.8KJavascript Object Notation
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS11_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:50 213KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS13_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:53 215KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS5_PACs__Filter_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:47 208KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS5_PACs__PUF_AB_2011-2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:47 208KComma separated
Date modified: