Ecosystem Exposure Polycyclic Aromatic Compounds (Passive), Oil Sands Region

Environment and Climate Change Canada has been monitoring ambient air in the oil sands region for polycyclic aromatic compounds (PACs) using passive air samplers since November 2010. Ambient air samples collected using the established protocols of the Global Atmospheric Passive Sampling (GAPS) Network are termed passive PAC samples. Passive samplers are deployed for two-month periods across a network of 17 sites that are maintained by the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association.

Average PAC levels across the passive sampling sites in the oil sands region are comparable to urban\/sub-urban levels across Canada and are elevated compared with background rural sites in Canada. Higher concentrations of PACs are measured at sites that are closer to oil sands mining and upgrading facilities compared with sites that are further away.

Benzo(a)pyrene (BaP) is a PAC formed mainly as a result of incomplete combustion of carbon-based materials and fuels during industrial and other human activities, as well as natural events such as forest fires. It is associated with heavy molecular weight PACs that may be more carcinogenic. The data from the measurements conducted so far (excluding data from May and June 2011 due to forest fires) indicate that BaP levels exceed the Alberta ambient air quality objective of 0.3 ng\/m3 as an annual average concentration (based on chronic and carcinogenic human health effects) at one location.

In October 2013, Environment and Climate Change Canada began investigating levels of nitro-PAHs (NPAHs) and oxy-PAHs (OPAHs) in the air monitoring samples. These types of PACs are either formed in the atmosphere as secondary organic pollutants (e.g. through atmospheric oxidation reactions of PACs) or co-released with other PACs from incomplete combustion processes. The spatial distribution of NPAH and OPAH concentration in air across the oil sands region is different than that of the directly emitted parent PACs concentration which decline with increasing distance from the oil sands mining and upgrading facilities. The different distribution results from their formation and transport in air. Their formation depends on the availability of precursor molecules, levels of atmospheric oxidants, as well as by physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere. Currently there are no air quality guidelines for NPAHs and OPAHs against which to assess the level of concern. Also, NPAHs and OPAHs are typically not monitored in air due to the complexity in analyzing them and therefore data from other parts of Canada are not available for comparison. Environment and Climate Change Canada in collaboration with Health Canada is looking into these compounds further and developing novel ways to assess their potential toxicity.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/15-Dec-2016 16:26 - Folder
[   ]385b52e9-a893-462b-a192-5af6a223514d.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 52KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (PolycyclicAromaticCompounds-Passive).csv10-Nov-2015 21:02 1.3KComma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 7.9KJavascript Object Notation
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2010_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:08 73KComma separated
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2011_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:14 105KComma separated
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:19 84KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_NPAHOPAH__Passive_AB_2013-2015_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:23 176KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_NPAHOPAH_Passive_AB_03-2014_06-2014_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:26 82KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_PAC_Passive_AB_03-2014_06-2014_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:29 118KComma separated
Date modified:

L’exposition de l’écosystème, échantillonnage passif des composés aromatiques polycycliques (CAP), région des sables bitumineux

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada surveille l’air ambiant dans la région des sables bitumineux à la recherche de composés aromatiques polycycliques (CAP) au moyen d’échantillonneurs atmosphériques passifs depuis novembre 2010. On appelle les échantillons d’air ambiant recueillis au moyen de protocoles établis du Réseau mondial d’échantillonnage atmosphérique passif (GAPS) des échantillons CAP passifs. Des échantillonneurs passifs ont été déployés pendant des périodes de deux mois dans une série de 17 sites qui sont entretenus par la Wood Buffalo Environmental Association.

Les niveaux moyens de CAP constatés dans les sites d’échantillonnage passif dans la région des sables bitumineux sont comparables aux niveaux urbains\/suburbains dans l’ensemble du Canada et ils sont élevés par rapport aux sites ruraux de référence au Canada. On observe des concentrations de CAP plus élevées dans les sites plus proches des installations d’extraction et de valorisation de sables bitumineux que dans ceux plus éloignés.

Le benzo[a]pyrène (BaP) est un CAP qui se forme principalement par suite d’une combustion incomplète de composés à base de carbone et de carburants durant les activités industrielles et autres activités humaines, ainsi que dans des circonstances naturelles, comme les feux de forêt. On l’associe aux CAP à molécules lourdes qui peuvent être plus cancérogènes. Les données obtenues à partir des mesures prises à ce jour (à l’exclusion des données de mai et de juin 2011 à cause de feux de forêt) indiquent que les niveaux de BaP dépassent l’objectif de l’Alberta en matière de qualité de l’air ambiant de 0,3 ng\/m3 en tant que concentration annuelle moyenne (d’après les effets chroniques et cancérogènes sur la santé humaine) à un endroit.

En octobre 2013, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a commencé à examiner les concentrations de nitro-HAP (NHAP) et d’oxy-HAP (OHAP) dans les échantillons de surveillance de la qualité de l’air. Ces types de composés aromatiques polycycliques (CAP) soit se forment dans l’atmosphère comme des polluants organiques secondaires (c.-à-d., par des réactions d’oxydation), soit sont libérés conjointement avec d’autres CAP lors de combustions incomplètes. La répartition spatiale des concentrations atmosphériques de NHAP et d’OHAP varient d’un emplacement à l’autre dans la région des sables bitumineux, et diffère de celui des concentrations de CAP apparentés résultant d’émissions directes qui diminuent à mesure qu’on s’éloigne des installations d’extraction et de valorisation des sables bitumineux. Le différence dans la distribution résulte de leur formation et du transport dans l'air. Leur formation dépend de la disponibilité des molécules de précurseurs, des concentrations atmosphériques d’oxydants, de même que des processus physiques et chimiques dans l’atmosphère. Il n’existe à l’heure actuelle aucune ligne directrice sur la qualité de l’air en ce qui concerne les NHAP et les OHAP qui permettrait d’évaluer les niveau de préoccupation. Aussi, en règle générale, les concentrations atmosphériques des NHAP et des OHAP ne font pas l’objet d’une surveillance en raison de la grande complexité des analyses et, par conséquent, on ne dispose pas de données d’autres régions du Canada aux fins de comparaison. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et Santé Canada ont joint leurs efforts pour explorer l’élaboration de nouvelles façons d’évaluer la toxicité potentielle de ces composés, ainsi que ses effets sur la santé humaine.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/15-Dec-2016 16:26 - Folder
[   ]385b52e9-a893-462b-a192-5af6a223514d.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 52KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (PolycyclicAromaticCompounds-Passive).csv10-Nov-2015 21:02 1.3KComma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 7.9KJavascript Object Notation
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2010_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:08 73KComma separated
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2011_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:14 105KComma separated
[Comma separated]EMPS_PASSIVE_PAC_SAMPLING_AB_2012_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:19 84KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_NPAHOPAH__Passive_AB_2013-2015_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:23 176KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_NPAHOPAH_Passive_AB_03-2014_06-2014_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:26 82KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_PAC_Passive_AB_03-2014_06-2014_V2.csv06-Dec-2016 14:29 118KComma separated
Date modified: