Ecosystem Sites, Speciated Mercury, Oil Sands Region

Measurements of gaseous elemental mercury (GEM), gaseous oxidized mercury (GOM) and particulate bound mercury on PM2.5 (referred to as PBM2.5) were collected by Environment and Climate Change Canada from August to September 2013 at the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) Air Monitoring Station (AMS) 13 – Fort McKay South, and at WBEA AMS 4 – Buffalo Viewpoint.

Monitoring resumed at WBEA AMS 13 in September 2014 with two speciated mercury instruments and is ongoing. One speciated mercury instrument monitors GEM, GOM, and PBM2.5; the second speciated mercury instrument monitors GEM, GOM, and mercury on PM10 (referred to as PBM10). The speciated mercury data collected at WBEA AMS 13 from September to December 2014 are available.

These data are the first atmospheric speciated mercury measurements to be reported in the oil sands region. Speciated mercury concentrations reported are comparable to those measured at sites across Canada (Cole et al., Atmosphere, 2014, 5(3), 635-668). Longer-term speciated mercury measurements will provide information on how mercury is cycling in the local ecosystem. There are no Environment and Climate Change Canada or Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) air quality guidelines, nor Alberta Ambient Air Quality Objectives for speciated Hg measurements.


Metadata

Resources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/15-Dec-2016 16:18 - Folder
[   ]32a45b19-234e-41e3-b6a1-ea5e70004bc4.xml09-Feb-2017 20:43 56KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (Speciated mercury-Fort_McKay_South_AB).csv03-Feb-2016 23:09 358 Comma separated
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (SpeciatedMercury-Buffalo_Viewpoint_AB).csv03-Feb-2016 23:11 460 Comma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json09-Feb-2017 20:43 4.4KJavascript Object Notation
[Text file]digest.txt12-Dec-2016 19:27 930 Text file
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS13_HG_Spec__Tekran_AB_2013_V2.csv05-Dec-2016 18:27 40KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC10__Tekran_AMS13_2014_V2.csv05-Dec-2016 18:47 44KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC25__Tekran_AMS13_2014_V2.csv05-Dec-2016 18:57 54KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC25__Tekran_BUF_2013_V2.csv05-Dec-2016 19:01 56KComma separated
Date modified:

Sites de l’écosystème, espèces chimiques de mercure, région des sables bitumineux

Des mesures du mercure élémentaire gazeux, du mercure oxydé gazeux et du mercure particulaire lié à des PM2,5 ont été recueillies par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada d’août à septembre 2013 à l’AMS 13 de la WBEA (Fort McKay Sud) et à l’AMS 4 de la WBEA (Buffalo Viewpoint).

La surveillance a repris à l’AMS 13 de la WBEA en septembre 2014, avec deux instruments de mesure des espèces chimiques de mercure, et se poursuit. Un instrument de mesure des espèces chimiques de mercure surveille le mercure élémentaire gazeux, le mercure oxydé gazeux et le mercure particulaire lié à des PM2,5, tandis que le second mesure le mercure élémentaire gazeux, le mercure oxydé gazeux et le mercure lié à des PM10. Les données sur les espèces chimiques de mercure recueillies à l’AMS 13 de la WBEA de septembre à décembre 2014 sont disponibles.

Ces données constituent les premières mesures atmosphériques liées aux espèces chimiques de mercure à être communiquées dans la région des sables bitumineux. Les concentrations relatives aux espèces chimiques de mercure déclarées sont comparables à celles qui ont été mesurées à différents sites à l’échelle du Canada (Cole et coll., Atmosphere, 2014, vol. 5, no 3, pp. 635-668). Les mesures à plus long terme des espèces chimiques de mercure fourniront des renseignements sur le cycle du mercure dans l’écosystème local. Concernant les mesures sur les espèces chimiques de mercure, il n’existe aucune recommandation sur la qualité de l’air formulée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et le CCME, ni d’objectifs de qualité de l’air ambiant de l’Alberta.


Metadonnees

Ressources

[ICO]NameLast modifiedSizeDescription
[Parent folder]Parent Directory  - Parent folder
[DIR]Archive/2016-12-15 16:18 - Folder
[   ]32a45b19-234e-41e3-b6a1-ea5e70004bc4.xml2017-02-09 20:43 56KUnknown item
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (Speciated mercury-Fort_McKay_South_AB).csv2016-02-03 23:09 358 Comma separated
[Comma separated]Change_Log-Registre_des_changements (SpeciatedMercury-Buffalo_Viewpoint_AB).csv2016-02-03 23:11 460 Comma separated
[Javascript Object Notation]datapackage.json2017-02-09 20:43 4.4KJavascript Object Notation
[Text file]digest.txt2016-12-12 19:27 930 Text file
[Comma separated]JOSM_AMS13_HG_Spec__Tekran_AB_2013_V2.csv2016-12-05 18:27 40KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPC10__Tekran_AMS13_2015_V1.csv2017-03-10 19:14 171KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPC25__Tekran_AMS13_2015_V1.csv2017-03-10 19:13 268KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC10__Tekran_AMS13_2014_V2.csv2016-12-05 18:47 44KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC25__Tekran_AMS13_2014_V2.csv2016-12-05 18:57 54KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_HGSPEC25__Tekran_BUF_2013_V2.csv2016-12-05 19:01 56KComma separated
[Comma separated]JOSM_MSC_PNR_TGM__Tekran_AMS13_2015_V1.csv2017-03-10 19:11 874KComma separated
Date modified: